SKCC Women’s A Grade Race Report

It’s been a couple weeks since I raced at the St Kilda Cycling Club Sunday morning crit’s and with more points on offer for the Total Rush Points Series, it was one I couldn’t resist!
There was an impressive line-up of 29 women in A grade with fellow Stay True teammate Alison McCormack by my side. 

As soon as the race started, the attacks were on! Many different team riders and individuals were having a crack and stirring up the peloton.
Eventually a break of about 10 of us got away including well known leg snapping riders Miranda Griffiths, Bridie O’Donnell, Bec Domange and an impressive representation of four Total Rush riders.

The break maintained its lead over the field (thanks to the help of Alison policing anyone else from bridging across) for the last 10mins or so of the race, with Bridie making a few bold attempts to solo away but the strength of the breakaway quickly closed her down whilst improving my chances to take the sprint finish.

However, my confidence took a rude shock when a TORQ rider attacked after the second corner on the bell lap – wow – and she really went for it! Felicity Wardlaw is a name and rider I will be taking note of in future!
With no one attempting to follow I quickly stepped out in pursuit and for what felt like an eternity watched the gap slowly decrease as I chased over the final 800m.

Coming around the final corner, I was still two bike lengths off Flick’s wheel and briefly thought I wasn’t going to make it.
I really had to dig deep over the last 200m and my Giant TCR launched me forward to take the win over the closing 10m or so to gain max points and maintain my lead in the points series.

thanks for reading!
Jenny Macpherson
Image

Photo by Chris Fuller

Leave a Reply

