The Glutard Interview – Part Two

What do you eat on a rest day?
I eat what I normally eat on a training day, but just try and portion-control what I eat. I sometimes feel hungrier on my rest days. It is a case of being sensible and not including too many treats! Generally as a society we tend to have too much sugar in our diets. I have found in Europe and the US that a lot of simple foods have sugar added to them. A simple tomato pasta sauce and even milk will have added sugar as a couple of examples. It is important to read labels and do a bit of research.

Have you tried lactase tablets? Opinion?
Yes I have tried them. Personally I still didn’t feel great taking them and then digesting a diary product, but it was worth trying so I could have an Italian hot chocolate!

What about race food – bars, gels and drinks? What can you eat and what do you prefer for training vs racing?
I just read the labels to ensure they don’t have any gluten or lactose. I like Bonk Breaker Bars, Organic Food Bars and Raw Revolution Bars. Torq gels are good as every flavour is both GF and LF.

In races I eat gels, bars and sometimes soft lollies or sports lollies and a mixture of water and sport drinks. If I am doing a long training ride I might have a sports drink, especially if it is hot. It can be extremely difficult to eat during races, which is why I like gels and soft bars. I usually put a couple of gels into the bottom of my shorts so they are easy to grab if it is wet and cold or you are too under the pump and can’t reach into your pockets straight away.

This was the case in my race last Sunday in Italy, in which we did 20 laps of a 5 km circuit.  It was constantly up and down with lots of roundabouts. It was very wet and there was oil on the road which caused a huge crash. I was in a break for 70 km with one other girl and it was ON the whole time. In this situation gels or other liquid calories are the best option as you might only get a 10 second reprieve to eat.

List three foods that you wish you could eat:
1.  A good tub of creamy vanilla yogurt
2. Any flavoured gelato other than a fruit flavour
3. Freshly baked Turkish bread with a really good hummus dip.
(I’m dissapointed by the absence of nutella, double quarter pounders or KFC double downs in this list – ed)

Having said that, there is almost always a good GF/LF substitute if you are imaginative. Here are a few:

  • Yogurt or ice cream – Custard made with lactose free milk (eg Zymil), soy yogurt (eg Soy Life), soy ice cream (So Good Chocolate Bliss is good)
  • Bread – Corn thins, GF bread (eg quinoa bread)
  • Milk – Bonsoy, almond milk, lactose free cow’s milk
  • Soy sauce – Tamari
  • Stir-fry noodles – Rice noodles
  • Breakfast cereal – Rice porridge, quinoa porridge

Finally, can you confirm a rumour we heard – that you can catch this glutard disease from sharing a drink/breathing the same air as an infected person?
Ha-ha, no, that is definitely a myth! 😉

Thanks for your time Jo.

Follow Jo on twitter

Leave a Reply

